At least I can say that I’ve tried

So much for posting a few times during my trip 😛 Oh well! I’m back in CA as of almost 3 weeks ago! Needless to say, running in Egypt was a total bust. I ran 3 times in the month that I was abroad but walked a whole lot. I ran once at my cousin’s college campus, once along the beach, and once on a track in the middle of Cairo. The last run on the track was the most difficult. I ran for a mile and a half, and had to stop. My lungs couldn’t take it anymore. The weather in Egypt has always affected me, and while I can comfortably say I don’t have asthma when i’m in California, while in Cairo, I always seem to have a flare up. The humidity and the amount of pollution in the air is a bad combination for my lungs.

Thankfully, a week after I landed back in CA, I ran a few times, and it felt really good to breathe in the fresh air. I was a little slower than usual just because I had to get my body back to the groove after the month off, but after that first mile, it was right back to my regular routine.

I started training for my first marathon this week. I haven’t signed up for one yet, i’m pretty much decided on the LA Marathon on February 14, 2016. But I can’t bring myself to sign up for it just yet. I’m really nervous, and I know that no matter what happens, I can at least say that i’ve tried. But it doesn’t mean the nerves haven’t settled yet. I need to just stick to my training plan, and pray for the best.

berkeleytosvAs part of my training, (and because medals are so shiny and pretty!) I am participating in my 3rd half marathon on November 22nd in Berkeley. The cool thing about running this half is that because I ran the SF Marathon, I’ll get a San Francisco to Berkeley medal along with the completion of my Berkeley Medal. On top of that, i’m planning to participate in the San Jose Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving which ALSO makes me eligible for the Berkeley 2 Silicon Valley Medal! As if I’m not crazy enough, I also signed up for the she.is.beautiful 10K in March. I’m hoping by then though that running 6.2mi after running 26.2, will be gravy. Also praying that my body is ready for what I’m about to put it through over the next few months.

Song of the week: Confident by Demi Lovato

2 thoughts on “At least I can say that I’ve tried

Leave a comment